Dealing with duplicates in a TM
Reference Number: AA-00593 Created: 10-01-2014 00:17 Last Updated: 23-07-2014 14:18 0 Rating/ Voters

Title: Dealing with duplicates in TMs

Description:  

With memoQ 2013 R2, the storage of TM roles together with a TM entry was introduced. The role value behaves similar to context. Assuming you have the default settings for the TM (store context and multiple translations are not allowed) then one TM entry is stored per context AND role. In other words, if storing roles is enabled, and a translator confirms a segment, and then a reviewer 2 confirms the same segment in the same context, then a new entry is created instead of overwriting the existing entry.

On the other hand, if you confirm the same segment in the same context with the same role, you overwrite the exsting entry in the TMThis can lead to undesired duplicates in the TM. When you turn the storage of roles off in the TM settings, you are not getting rid of duplicates for existing entries that are already in the TM. In fact, if you already have the same entry in the TM with three different roles for example (T, R1, and R2), and turn the storage of roles off, and confirm the same segment again in the same context, you create a fourth TM entry because now the role to store is different again (role=None).

If the storage of roles is turned off, you are not creating "new" duplicates for segments that are not in the TM yet.
If you want to completely prevent having different versions of the same TM entry per role, you need to turn the storage of roles off before entering any translations into your TM. Since memoQ 2013 R2 ( build 6.8.53 and higher), the default TM settings do not store the role by default.
Rss Comments (Please do not post support requests here.)
  • There are no comments for this article.
Info Add Comment
Nickname: Your Email: Subject: Comment:
Enter the code below:
Quick Jump Menu
Info Missing an article? Let us know!